Du Chateau Manor
Barokowo – The classicist mansion was erected in 1791, on the site of the Hrubieszov dominion – the area where the former castle was located, destroyed as a result of the invasion of Bohdan Khmelnytsky’s army. Over the years, the owners of the estate successively changed. It is worth mentioning that at the beginning of the 19th century the object was in the possession of Rev. Stanislaw Staszic. It was not until 1848 that the Hrubieszow mansion passed into the possession of the du Chateau family for a longer period of time. At that time it was acquired by Peter Alexander du Chateau. His father was an officer in Napoleon’s army and came from the town of Bessin in southern France, where members of the du Chateau family had been hereditary regents for more than 300 years.
Initially, a pharmacy was located and thriving in the mansion, and during the tsarist period a secret school for girls operated there, which was run by a representative of the du Chateau family.
During the Nazi occupation, the Germans stationed in the mansion, in 1941, rebuilt the interior and added an annex to the main body on the east side. At that time, the two outbuildings were connected to the manor house by connectors. In the end, the ground plan of the manor house, together with the annexes connected to it, received the plan of a shortened letter “U”. After the end of World War II, the building became the headquarters of the NKVD.
The mansion has now been adapted for museum purposes. The thriving Rev. Stanislaw Staszic Museum is located in the main building of the mansion and the eastern outbuilding, while the Stanislaw Staszic Hrubieszow Regional Society and the Prof. Wiktor Zin District Public Library have their headquarters in the western outbuilding.
The Hrubieszow museum boasts attractive collections depicting the rich history and culture of the region, including cultural heritage in the form of paintings by prominent painter Pawel Gajewski. Today, the artist’s works can only be found in private collections, at an exhibition at the Lviv Art Gallery and in our Hrubieszow museum. In addition, among the museum’s exhibitions, one can find the one dedicated to the Hrubieszow Agricultural Society founded here by Staszic. The archaeology department should also be singled out, with exhibitions of phenomenal scientific value devoted to the prehistoric settlement of the Hrubieszow land.
The museum is open to the public year-round from Monday to Sunday, Except for public holidays.
Location: ul. 3 Maja 11
Contact: (84) 696-27-83
Address www: www.muzeum-hrubieszow.com.pl